How does a solar tower work?

A large array of mirrors is laid out, generally in a circle. These mirrors track the sun, to keep the reflected light focused on the top of a tall tower at the center. A working fluid is pumped to this focus, where it boils. The steam is then used to turn a turbogenerator and produce electric power.