What's the difference between ginger and ginger root?

There are significant differences when comparing ground ginger to ginger root. The pungency and flavor of dried ground ginger differ from fresh ginger root. Ground ginger is preferred for baked goods and spiced drinks, whereas fresh ginger is often used in savory dishes, especially in Asian cuisine.