How big is a football yard?

The football field is measured 53.3 yards wide. The reason for the 53.3 yards wide is because it's 160 feet converted into yards. 160 divided by 3 equals 53.3 yards wide. The field is 100 yards long between the goal lines. One yard is 3 feet or 36 inches.