How much broth is in beef stew?

Once you have floured and quick fried your beef, you add in your chopped potatoes, onions, carrots and celery, bay leaf etc. stir them about a bit. Add in just enough broth to cover the beef mixture. The flour from the beef will thicken your broth into a sauce as it cooks.