What are jungle peanuts?

Jungle peanuts, primarily found in Amazonia are the precursors of today's peanuts. They are healthy to eat, containing heart-healthy oleic acid and many other essential nutrients and minerals. Unlike "modern" peanuts, they are generally eaten raw.