What kind of monkey is curious george?

Barbary Macaque Curious George is called a "little monkey" in all of the Curious George literature, TV shows, and movies. But Curious George has no tail, and generally, that means you are an ape. But, there is one monkey with no tail, or at least one that is vestigial and not visible