What's a rusty lantern?

Rust is a reddish- or yellowish-brown flaky coating of iron oxide that is formed on iron or steel by oxidation, especially in the presence of moisture. A lantern is a lamp with a transparent case protecting the flame or electric bulb, and typically having a handle by which it can be carried or hung