Why are flames red?

This is due to incandescence of very fine soot particles that are produced in the flame. ... The colder part of a diffusion (incomplete combustion) flame will be red, transitioning to orange, yellow, and white as the temperature increases as evidenced by changes in the black-body radiation spectrum.