What's the difference between an american lab and an english lab?

The names English and American Labs are used to designate Labs that have been bred for different purposes. Typically, dogs bred for show are English Labs. Dogs bred for the hunt, or working type, are American Labs. Both types of Labs are sweet, loving animals who want to please their owners.