What does t. t. y. seven eleven mean?

TTY is text telephone. Telecommunications Relay Services permit persons with a hearing or speech disability to use the telephone system via a text telephone or other device to call persons with or without such disabilities. Dialing 7-1-1 allows users to initial the call easily.