What does luck do in minecraft?

With the default loot tables, this enchantment increases the chance of "treasure" catches (by about 2% per level), while greatly lowering the chance of "junk" catches and slightly lowering the chance of fish catches.

---

Luck is a status effect that makes it more likely to receive better loot from certain loot tables, contrary to Bad Luck.