How are baby chickens made?

A rooster will inseminate a hen. That hen will then lay fertile eggs. After laying several eggs, the hen will "brood" them, by sitting on them to keep them warm for 28-32 days. During this time the egg yolk grows into a chick, which hatches at the end of the brooding cycle, and a new chicken is born