What is mexican independence day about?

Mexico officially gained independence from Spain on September 28, 1821. However, Independence day in Mexico is observed on September 16, commemorating the day, in 1810, when Miguel Hidalgo is believed to have declared independence in the town of Dolores, in the north-central part of Guanajuato.