Is a firefly and a lightning bug the same thing?

Yes. Fireflies and lightning bugs are the same insect, and are actually beetles. ... A combination of an enzyme called luciferase reacts with luciferin creating the glow on the abdomen of the firefly. The light is intermittent and it appears that each lightening bug has a unique pattern of lighting.