How does a three d. pen work?

A 3D pen works by heating a plastic filament to its melting point and forcing it through the tip of an extruder, same way a glue gun works. After leaving the tip the plastic begins to quickly cool down and after a few seconds, the plastic hardens and is molded into whatever shape you have created.