What is the theme of the story the rabbit and the turtle?

The parable of the rabbit and the turtle is meant to show that being fast or ahead early in any endeavor, like the rabbit, does not mean one will be the best or the winner. Rather, slow and consistent effort, like the turtle , is best and more often makes you a winner.