What year did the united states enter world war one?

World War I broke out in 1914. President Woodrow Wilson proclaimed the United States would remain neutral. However, public opinion changed after the sinking of Lusitania by a German U-boat in 1915; almost 2,000 people perished. The U.S. officially entered the conflict on April 6, 1917.