What is a sandbar deer?

The sambar is a large deer native to the Indian subcontinent, South China, and Southeast Asia. They have been listed as a vulnerable species on the IUCN Red List since 2008. Populations have declined substantially due to severe hunting, local insurgency, and industrial exploitation of habitat.