What does s. p. e. l. e. o. t. h. e. n. s. spell?

S P E L E O T H E M S spells Speleothems. They are "cave deposits"(from Ancient Greek) or cave formations; secondary mineral deposits formed in limestone or dolomite solutional caves. They take various forms, depending on whether the water drips,seeps, condenses, flows,or ponds. Reference Wikipedia