What's the difference between a respirator and a ventilator?

A respirator is used to protect a person who is working in an area with chemicals or perhaps germs. A ventilator is for patients to providing breathing assistance to patients for whom providing oxygen is not enough.

---

A ventilator actively pushes air into a patient who is unable to breathe on their own, while a respirator is a filtering device that does not provide active breathing assistance. Some respirators have fans to increase airflow through filters, but they cannot substitute for a users' breathing.

---

A ventilator is a machine that helps a patient breathe. A respirator is used as protective masks for health professionals that filter out virus particles.