Who is peter quint?

From The Turn of the Screw: "A former valet at Bly Manor. Red-haired, handsome, and exceedingly clever. According to Mrs. Grose, he was a hound and “too free” with everyone. The governess describes his specter as an unnaturally white, silent “horror.” She believes Quint’s ghost is haunting Bly.