What was vaseline 's original name?

In 1872, Chesebrough received patent rights for petroleum jelly. He called it Vaseline, deriving the name from combining the German word “Wasser” which means “water” and the Greek word “elaion” which means “olive oil.”

---

Vaseline has been called Vaseline since it’s creation in 1859.