How many players does destiny two have?

DestinyTracker claims to track more than 8.4 million players, but the latest stats from yesterday (Sunday - typically the most popular day to play games based on Metabomb's traffic), show that 268,500 players were in the Crucible at some point, with 606,900 players taking part in PVE.