Who was james buchanan's wife?

President James Buchanan never married and, thus, never had a wife. He is famous for being the the only U.S. president to remain a bachelor throughout his entire time in office. Historians have claimed he was romantically involved with William Rufus King, vice president under Franklin Pierce.