Where is the hobbit house?

New Zealand's rugged scenery was the location for much of the Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit films, but it was a 1,250 acre working sheep farm on North Island that became Hobbiton, the home of the hobbits in JRR Tolkien's fantasy land, Middle Earth.