What is key mesabi?

Tonto used the term Kemosabe to refer to his partner, the Lone Ranger, in a radio show that premiered in 1933 and later became a TV show. Tonto said it meant "trusty scout". Use of the term today may be considered racially insensitive, but it was not used in a derogatory way on the show.