What's the southern wild?

Beasts of the Southern Wild is a 2012 American drama film directed, co-written, and co-scored by Benh Zeitlin. The film was nominated for four Academy Awards at the 85th Academy Awards, in the categories Best Picture, Best Director, Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Actress.