Can a black ant bite you?

All ants can bite. They have large pinchers on their heads that they use to bite anything that threatens them or gets too close to their nest.

---

Yes, but they lack the powerful sting of their red cousins. If threatened, they can deliver painful bites. The jaws of the black ant evolved 2 cut through wood & tough plant fibers, & will dig deep into skin. Their jaws deliver a small amount of formic acid 2 produce a long-lasting burning effect.