What is cassava root?

Cassava is a nutty-flavored, starchy root vegetable or tuber. Native to South America, it's a major source of calories and carbs for people in developing countries. However, cassava can have dangerous effects, especially if it is eaten raw and in large amounts.

---

Cassava is a woody shrub native to South America of the spurge family. Although a perennial plant, cassava is extensively cultivated as an annual crop in tropical and subtropical regions for its edible starchy tuberous root, a major source of carbohydrates.