When did randy travis have his first hit song forever and ever?

"Forever and Ever, Amen" is a song written by Paul Overstreet and Don Schlitz, and recorded by country music artist Randy Travis. It was released in March 1987 as the first single from the album Always & Forever and became Travis's third No. 1 single on the U.S. Billboard Hot Country Singles charts