Is marinara sauce the same as pasta sauce?

Marinara sauce is much lighter and simpler compared to pasta sauce. Marinara typically employs only tomato, olive oil and garlic, which makes it less complex than pasta sauce. Additionally, marinara takes less time to cook while pasta sauce can have meat that prolongs its cooking time.