How do zodiac signs work?

There are 12 zodiac signs assigned to specific months and days of the year The all have a ruling planet and are either an air, water, earth or fire sign. Each sign has personality traits, likes, dislikes and compatibility with certain other signs. They are represented by symbols like ram or fish.