Who governs the galapagos islands?

Ecuador Ecuador and the Galapagos Ecuador annexed the islands in 1832, shortly after its independence and three years before Darwin's famous Beagle voyage. The country is the closest landmass to the islands, though still lies over 600 miles to the east.