What's the difference between a green bell pepper and a red bell pepper?

Bell peppers come in a variety of colors, including red,orange,yellow,purple, and white. All of them are green before they ripen: there is no green "variety". A green bell pepper is just a prematurely picked bell pepper of any variety. Ripe peppers tend to be fruitier & sweeter than green peppers.