What kind of beef is a london broil?

Originally London broil was made with flank steak, but over the years, the name has been applied to many other lean, thick cuts of beef, such as top round. Generally, you will find London broil being marketed as anything from a 1-inch steak to a 4-inch roast that comes from sirloin .