Why is it called french toast?

According to legend, it was an Albany, New York, innkeeper named Joseph French. He created the dish in 1724, and advertised it as "French Toast" because he was grammatically inept and forgot the apostrophe s.

---

French toast wasn't invented in France. Like french fries, it was made popular in America by French immigrants. Throughout history the dish known as french toast has been called other names. In France, it is called pain perdu.

---

The name “french toast" was first used in 17th-century England. The recipe — and name — were brought to America by early settlers. In France, the dish is called “pain perdu," meaning “lost bread."