What's the difference between rainy and showers?

Showers, also known as rain showers, have a shorter duration than rain. They tend to be quick and come in bursts. Showers come from puffy clouds or cumuliform clouds, like cumulus or cumulonimbus. Compared to rain, showers cover a smaller area but can be more intense.