What do you use a semi colon?

Use a semicolon to join two related independent clauses in place of a comma and a coordinating conjunction — such as and, but, or, nor, for, so, yet. Make sure when you use the semicolon that the connection between the two independent clauses is clear without the coordinating conjunction.