What is the american legion forty and eight?

The Forty and Eight affiliation with the American Legion was dissolved in 1959. 40 & 8 refers to French railcars designed to hold 40 men and eight horses. They were used to transport American soldiers to the front in WWI. The 40 & 8 now primarily supports youth programs.