Can peanut butter be turned into diamonds?

Diamonds are carbon, in a dense molecular structure. As plants, peanuts are carbon based life consisting of organic compounds, not elemental carbon. You Tube videos to the contrary, no, peanut butter cannot be made into diamonds, at least not without converting it to elemental carbon. Why bother?