Why do salmon turn red?

Wild salmon is naturally pink due to their diet which includes astaxanthin, a reddish-orange compound found in krill and shrimp. Farm-raised salmon, however, eat whatever farmers throw into their pen. A farmer can determine color by how much astaxanthin is given to the fish.