Who designed the first helicopter?

The first modern practical helicopter was designed by Igor Sikorsky and first flew in 1939. This design was the first to use a main rotor and a tail rotor. There are earlier designs: the Focke-Wulf Fw-61 flew in 1936. Earlier proposals exist but none could sustain controlled flight.