What's a five alarm fire?

A five alarm fire means that five different fire alarms have rung, and that five different fire engines are there.

---

A one-alarm fire has 20 firefighters (five four-person units), plus two members of command staff; three pumper trucks and two other trucks. A five alarm fire takes five times that many people and equipment.