What does it sound like when your heart skips a beat?

Palpitations can feel like the heart is fluttering, throbbing, flip-flopping, murmuring, or pounding. They can also feel like the heart skips a beat. Some people feel palpitations as a pounding in the chest or neck; others feel them as a general sense of unease.