Why is freezing marinara sauce not recommended?

Cool marinara sauce to room temperature, and ladle into plastic containers or zip-top freezer bags. We recommend freezing in 3-cup portions, which is equivalent to 6 servings of sauce, or in 1-cup portions for a smaller household. Store in freezer up to 4 months.