How is pepper made?

Peppercorns grow on a flowering vine that can grow to over 12 feet tall with white or cream-colored blooms.

---

Black pepper (Piper nigrum) is a flowering vine in the family Piperaceae, cultivated for its fruit, known as a peppercorn, which is usually dried and used as a spice and seasoning.