How deadly is a funnel web spider?

Australia's Sidney funnel web spiders are one of the deadliest spiders in the world to humans. Their venom affects the nervous system and can result in death within hours. An antivenom has been available since 1980, and since then, there have been no deaths, even with 30 to 40 bites per year.