What was the longest soccer game ever?

The longest football game was a match between English clubs Stockport County and Doncaster Rovers. Played at Edgeley Park on March 30, 1946, the match lasted 3 hours and 23 minutes. This was before penalty shootouts were adopted, and they simply played until it was too dark to continue.