What is a corn dogger?

A corn dogger is a cake of corn bread that is fried, baked, or boiled as a dumpling. Corn dodgers originated as a survival food for pioneers during the Westward Expansion of the 1800s. They were made out of the only ingredients on hand in hard times, cornmeal, pork fat, salt, and water.