Who is big sam battle?

Born Samuel Jesse Battle, he was an American police officer and the first African-American New York City Police Department

---

Samuel Jesse "Big Sam" Battle (January 16, 1883 – August 7, 1966) was an American police officer and the first African-American New York City Police Department officer.